IELTS Writing task 2 - Curfew effects on teens

the restriction of teenagers activities at night

IN SOME AREAS OF THE US, A "CURFEW" IS IMPOSED, IN WHICH TEENAGERS ARE NOT ALLOWED TO BE OUT OF DOORS AFTER A PARTICULAR TIME AT NIGHT UNLESS THEY ARE ACCOMPANIED BY AN ADULT. WHAT IS YOUR OPINION ABOUT THIS?

In the aftermath of the recent attacks on teenagers in Baltimore, the regional government has ordered to disallow teenagers from wandering outdoors alone after seven in the evening, unless accompanied by an adult. While many think that this has severely restricted the day-to-day activities of teenagers, I believe that the curfew should be imposed as a necessary step to ensure safety of the teenagers.

An unidentified group has been responsible for carrying out physical attacks on teenagers. According of the police reports, all the attacks on teenagers have taken place after eight in the evening. A teenager wandering alone at night is vulnerable to such attacks. The present curfew will help to avoid any further attacks on teenagers, particularly in the evening.

Moreover, the government allows the teenagers to be out of doors after seven if they are accompanied by an adult. The police report also mentions that all the teenagers attacked were alone at that time of the crime. Teenagers usually panic in such dire situations and are not able to defend themselves. There is little chance that the group will attack teenagers accompanied by adults since adults will be able to handle the situation more effectively.

Thus, the curfew does not completely restrict the movements of teenagers at night as an adult can accompany them in case of urgencies, while at the same time, the safety of the teenagers is ensured. This curfew will prevent additional attacks on the teenagers and should be imposed at least till the criminals are caught by the authorities.