These days, people in some countries are living in a throwaway society which means people use things

The demand for economic growth stimulates continuous and intensive manufacturing lines, entailing the development of consumerism. This essay will discuss that the desire for materialism and the mass production of single-use products are why throwaway society leads to environmental degradation and low-quality products.This is due to the trend towards materialism which people insist on polishing themselves with fashionable and newly-introduced styles along with cutting-edge digital gadgets for the sake of showing off their wealth and enhancing social status. Such is the case for the fast consumption of products from Apple brands whose iPhone, Macbook, and iPad are updated annually with prohibitive prices compared to other brands; nevertheless, still being quickly hunted by affluent classes and younger to prove their lavish lifestyles towards other people. Furthermore, with a view to boosting profits of sales and brand awareness, businesses do not even hesitate to conduct mass production with the same quality but vibrant labeling commodity, making consumers appeal to the eye-catching appearance of products and proactively buy without considering. This could be understood briefly that where there is a retailer, there will be a buyer. Therefore, a throwaway society still continues to exist until people have less demand for consumption. As a result, the social market is flooded with quick-use products that are cheap and trendy, manipulating consumers to purchase and dispose of them. Consequently, the overabundant disposal increases many mounts of garbage in nooks and crannies of the metropolitans and landfills which releases carbon gas out of the atmosphere. Moreover, the product line requires the robust operation of fuel-running engines, resulting in the exhaustion of natural resources such as fossils, wood, and the like. Apart from environmental recession, there is the omnipresence of low-standard products as the enterprises prioritize producing modern and outstanding patterns in large quantities rather than concentrating on elaborating the quality of their products, lessening not only the reliability of the brands but also the healthy life of people. For example, plastic bottles or cups of coffee are ubiquitous with various details and colors; however, the process of manufacturing these plastic materials is unveiled and the WHO has recorded more than 1000 cases of cancer due to the particles of plasticity in such hot plastic coffee cups. In other words, the consequences of consumer culture seem to be potential and unavoidable. In conclusion, there are two conspicuous outcomes of consumerism including contaminating the environment and spreading low-quality commodities that result from materialistic lifestyle and mass production. It is worth suggesting countermeasures for society to mitigate the later risks of consumer society.