IELTS task 2: DEBT CRISIS: should banks examine financial ability?

The debt crisis problem

The reason most individuals are in debt is due to the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks should not issue credit cards unless they are completely sure of an individual's ability to pay back their debts.

To what extent to you agree with this?

Despite a great many advantages that loans provide, borrowers can be posed serious dilemmas if not budgeting for bank cards. A resolution has been put forward, concerning the necessity of thorough individual examination of financial capability before supplying debts. From a personal standpoint, I consent with this idea to a great extent. Nonetheless, the situation calls for an additional antidote, which involves individual self-awareness.

To begin with, credit inspection does away with possible bad debts by blocking disallowed people's access to funds of a bank. Under the auspices of account history or financial background check, which is linked to a person's occupation, staff can evaluate his/her ability to return the debt. To be specific, based on monthly income and monetary records, the bank can estimate the maximum sum allowed. Such objective probes form a credible ground for transparent transactions, thereby avoiding any defective claims. The emergency of the 2008 economic downturn resulting from debt crisis well exemplifies for the critical importance of budgetary examination. For the time being, even people whose unqualified deposits or credit reports were offered mortgages to get on the housing ladder. This marked the outset of a serious recession, having long-lasting injurious bearings on world's economy.

In addition, bringing this crisis to a halt also falls on borrowers' responsibilities. First, it stands to reason that reckless expenditure of charge cards truly lies behind unpaid debts. Thus, a reasonable plan is vital with a view to keeping spending within adequate limits. Second, without debtors' genuine reports, budget analysis is not utterly reliable. Any individuals should thoroughly perceive that dishonesty can give rise to damage to either capital or prestige of both creditors and debtors.

In conclusion, I believe the burden of debt crisis should be shared among banks and mortgagors. Such collaboration will soon abolish current challenges and contribute to secure and trustworthy future loans.