GRE ESSAY - detailed analysis of a society

question)

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

response)

In order to effectively understand the important characteristics of society it is necessary to study major cities as well as villages. Only through effective retrospection can one pin point the specialities to evaluate both positive and negative side of society.

A society may be divided on different bases. The division maybe because of culture or wealth but mostly it is regionalism that drifts apart the culture. In a society there are both types of people, rich and poor, and they belong to different religions, but still they tend to have common practices and choices which is due the region in which they reside. For instance, take the case of society near coastal areas, Orissa, a predominantly Bengali state and Kerala, a Tamil state, both are different in religions but tend to have a common liking towards sea food. The sea affects their characteristics so much so that even the occupation is majorly sea oriented, like fisherman, ferry worker, etc.

The effect of religion and wealth on characteristic of a society is obvious. The poor and rich have standards of living in proportion to their income. Religion has similar effect on life of society. Thus in order to understand the importance of society it is required a detailed analysis of every part of society be done irrespective of the fact that the location is major city or a village.

In some cases, it can be reasoned that major cities are enough for study of characteristics of that are important for a society. Most of the major cities and capitals of countries have amalgam of people from every corner of society. People tend to move to major cities in order to have better standards of living but they still follow their old village practices. Thus when a study of major city is done, it yields many important and varying characteristics which are closely accurate to the detailed study. Thus it is economical and time effective to carry out study of only major cities in order to define important characteristics of a society.

Based on arguments, it can be concluded that it is best to carry out a detailed analysis of a society to understand it better. It will not give accurate results but will also avoid chances of unsatisfactory results and fresh analysis. Though a detailed analysis may appear a costly and time consuming affair but will prove more useful in long run.