IELTS: Development of a country Vs pollution and environmental damage

In many cases the development of a country is accompanied by pollution and environmental damage. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Can it be simply avoided if the country takes an environmentally friendly approach?

In the modern world, the pollution and damage to environment is increasing at an alarming rate. The environmental hazard and air pollution are mainly caused by factories which are responsible for producing waste polluted by chemicals, emission of gases, and an increasing population's activities. It is considered that environmental pollution is widely observed in developing or developed countries due to modern industrialized society. Personally, I agree with this idea that country's development leads more effects and pollution to the environment. This essay will look at some of the factors which causes pollution and effects on nature and discuss some ways to avoid them.

Along with a country's development, many factories and industries are built which add to the ever increasing population. Many factories use chemicals in their production process and produce waste to the environment. Also, as country develops, the living standard of its nation's is also increasing and as a consequence, usage of private vehicle is greatly rising. Gas emissions from industries and exhaust fumes from cars affect greatly to the air pollution and they are considered the main factors which lead to global warming. As the human population increases, we are also producing ever greater quantities of waste, which contaminates the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans.

However, I believe that countries can avoid future's devastating hazard related to the polluted air and damaged environment by introducing environmental friendly approach in their development. Governments could introduce laws to limit emissions from factories or to force companies to use renewable energy from solar, wind or water power. They could also promote public transports by making them sufficient enough, fast and cheaper, and building them roads without traffic. If public transport can have more advantages than using private vehicle, people would prefer to use it instead of riding own vehicle. Also recycling of waste is very important. Therefore countries could have to focus to build more factories for recycling of waste.

In conclusion, we should keep our planet by reducing pollution and damage to the environment and making it friendly to live. I strongly believe that there are many ways to avoid nature's pollution, such as by reducing gas emissions from industries, by encouraging public transport and by reusing and recycling in order to help to reduce waste.