Discuss "Globalization: a positive or negative development?"

Globalization: a positive or negative development?

With the relentless development of society come novel conceptions for global citizens, which include globalization. From all accounts, ones should get accustomed to life in times of globalization for the advantages it brings about, while a minority of people disagree on its benefits. From my perspective, humanity would benefit more from a world without globalization rather than regard it as a positive development.

On the one hand, extreme rate of globalization can result in culture shock, as some cultures that are considered appropriate in one region can be deemed as unusual or even immoral in other parts of the world. For instance, while in most of the western countries, childless couples are becoming increasingly common, a majority of residents of the eastern culture believe that the final purpose of marriage is to have children to continue the bloodline. Moreover, the over-integration of one culture into another may lead to culture homogenization on grounds of some individuals' propensity to abandon their own culture and replicate the others to affirm their uniqueness in public. Likewise, religious conflicts can happen more frequently due to disputes over diferent faiths and religions.

One the other hand, globalization at a suitable rate can serve as a tool of education for those who want to broaden their horizon about other cultures and prevent culture shock for those who intend to study abroad or reside in a foreign country. On top of that, the global economy can be stimulated by the promotion of international and intercontinental trade and international communication will be facilitated, resulting from the emergence of cultures and, hence, universal languages.

In conclusion, I believe that globalization at the present time does not have the adequate capacity to make its upsides outweigh the drawbacks.