IELTS TASK 2: Traveling to work is a negative or positive development. Discuss both views.

Task 2:

Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school, some people believe that this has negative development while others think there are some benefits.

Discuss both view and give your opinion

It is true that nowadays, people are spending much more time traveling for work or school. While some people argue that this is a negative trend, others believe that there are some advantages. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my perspective on this matter.

On one side of this argument, people argue that people spend too much time traveling to work or school which leads to a negative development. Almost people choose to use their own car or motorbike to go to work, the demand of traveling for work increases which means the number of vehicles on the road also grows following this demand. As a result, it can be lead to traffic jams in rush hours. Moreover, when people stuck in traffic jams, sitting on the motorbike breathing in toxic fumes from other vehicles, which in long term can lead to several serious health issues. Additionally, the exhausted fumes from transports can cause environmental pollution.

On the other hand, it can be argued that commuting to work has some advantages. These benefits are normally related to people who use public transports. First of all, it can allow people more time to finish things that they have not had enough time to complete. For example, students have a great chance to finish their homework and adults have more time to get their project done or check their schedule. In addition, people also have time to read books, listen to their favorite songs or even enjoy the beautiful scenery outside the window. Besides, it is a great opportunity for those who need to take a nap after burning might night oil to catch the deadline.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that it still has some advantages that surpass its negative effect. It does not only save time it also gives people more great opportunities to relax or complete their work.