Ielts writing task 2 essay: Discuss and opinion about information sharing.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to beshared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The value of information

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the advancing era of science, business, engineering and technology, it is vital that all the information are shared and fairly distributed throughout the world. Some people argue that sharing information is beneficial to the development of new technology, a cure for a disease and mankind advancement. Others tend to retain the valuable information and prevent it from leaking out to the public. The decision of whether to share or not to share the information is greatly depending on the various types of occupation and organization.

It is important that all the scientific research findings and data are made publicity for other researchers and academia. For instance, a group of scientist from a research centre is developing an experiment with a medicine that can possibly cure cancer. During their research, if these scientists do not share their results about the failed experiments, another group of researchers may repeat exactly the same mistake which is wasting both time and money from the funding organization. Furthermore, a newly form group of scientists may reinvented the wheel and repeat the same research without prior knowledge about the previous data. It is extremely difficult to have something new invented if the researchers are not sharing their findings.

On the other hand, the majority of business organizations are very strict and protective of their company's information. It is understandable that the business secrets should not be shared freely to the public as it might affect the company's profits and their employee's privacy. In these cases, the information is too valuable and should be protected.

In conclusion, information regarding to research should be made public whereas data relating to business's secret can be reserved and protected. It is also important to allow a lawful body or the government to access the information when needed.

(Words: 298)