Early cultivation of children's interest in learning second language

Q: Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

early start advantage of learning a foreign language

Whether children should have began a second languages in their earlier ages or not has been widely debated. Some people think it is positive, whereas others consider it is not essential for them to start in the primary school. Even though I have a tendency to believe in the former idea, negative and positive outcomes of both side, with my own insight will be elaborated in this essay.

First and foremost, cultivating children's interest in learning second language would be the main reason for advocates. Since elementary teachers tend to teach students by playing games, students have a opportunity of acqire the languages and makes them focus on it. Acquiring the languages by games reduces their pressure and also naturally inspire their motivation to learn un-mother tongue.

Earlier access to the different languages aid students to have much more times to get used to it. As most students deplete their whole strengths to study other academic disciplines in junior high school, they might not pay much attention and energy in learning one particular subject. Thus students probably think it is a pressure for emphasizing on learning foreign languages. Therefore, starting to utilize a second languages in primary school benefits children to have sufficient time for learning foreign language.

There are still others hold a contradictory respective. They thought teachers in primary school do not have excellent skills in the languages field. Students will have different levels of languages capacity for receiving far different informations from their respective teachers. On the other hand, the resulting causes a large range of students' abilities and makes subsequent teacher have a trouble in manipulating all the students, while the policy could regulate the outcome.

People stands for their opinion as they think plenty of advantages of both arguments are beneficial to children. While either insights have their worthy support parts, I believe earlier learning second language advantages has more than its drawbacks.