Eassy For Toefl: computer for students vs books for library

Question: Your school has enough money to purchase either computers for students or books for the library. Which should your school choose to buy - computers or books? Use specific reasons and examples to support your recommendation.

Answer:

As technology advances capability of computer has also improved. Now, most probably the widely used electronics device in the world is computer and it's not because for its low cost but also for its diverse usages. If my school has money to purchase either computer or books i will definitely suggest to buy the computer and this is for two reasons.

The main reason is we can now read different books in computer. At present, we have different word processing software as well as reading software. With the help of those software we can easily read any book. For example, last year I was looking for a biology book for my homework. However, I did not buy that at the beginning of the year, as my teacher did not focus on that particular book. Anyway, at the end of the year, he gave us an assignment from that particular book and he gave us only 2 days to submit that assignment. As the bookstores were far from my home and i had other course work to do, therefore, it was not feasible for me to go to the bookstores and buy my book. I took help of computer and internet, from internet i downloaded the book and finished my assignment on time. As you can see, buying new computer will be more helpful to the student than buying new books for library.

The another reason is we can use computer for many other purpose beside reading. A book only talk about on one thing, however, computer can teach us different things. For instance, l learned Java - a popular computer programming language, last year with the help of computer. There are many books on Java in the market, however, without practicing the code you will not have a good understanding of that subject. And to do your practice you need a computer where java is install. Moreover, we can learn java without books. I learned Java programming without any help of book. There are lots of tutorials on java in internet. I watched them and practiced in my computer and that's it. I learned java in one month. This experience taught me that we can use computer as a replacement of books.

In sum, some people will oppose the idea, buying new computer instead of books. However, I believe with the help of computer we can read the books and can do many other things, so it will be a better option for us to buy new computer than books.