(IELTS ESSAY) effects of electronic games on children

Question: Children nowadays prefer electronic games to other games and toys. Why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In the present scenario, majority of youngsters incline to pursue computer games than that of conventional plays. I believe it is due to the advancements in science and technology, and which leads to a number of adverse impacts on children's lives.

The unprecedented changes in science and technology give rice to the invention of many amusement gadgets, especially gaming devices. Nowadays, these applications are highly influenced by young children, as those offer much lively graphical effects along with less activity needed for playing. For example, some computer games are available in three dimensional formats with higher sound effects and picture qualities, attract a large number of youngsters. Moreover, majority of these games are easily downloaded from the internet without any loss of money.

Playing games on computers or other devices bring about many adverse effects on kids. Firstly, it hampers a child's academic excellence to a very large extent. Moreover, games of extreme violence can take away many of the emotional values from youngsters. For instance, one who plays shooting game continuously becomes less emotionally sensitive to real world crimes. These may lead to reduction of some good qualities; sympathy, empathy, and generosity from them. Finally, sitting continuously in front of computers causes some serious health hazards such as visual problems and obesity.

In a nutshell, from these points of view, computer games have become a big menace for young world. So it is high time for parents and teachers to be active in reducing children's affinity towards these games.