Some employers are giving increased importance to social skills --ielts

As workplaces becoming increasingly competitive nowadays, a greater proportion of the new recruits assessment centre is given to assessments for social skills in addition to good qualifications. To my view, I am convinced that interpersonal skills are equally important as good qualifications.

Workplace is distinctly different from school which success is measured by qualifications. With the self-learning environment at school, students are used to work alone in order to adsorb knowledge more thoroughly. But it is clearly not the case at work where teamwork is required for large project that are nearly impossible to be done by individuals. Despite these projects, cooperation is often needed in daily works as well. Take a merchandise company as an example, accounting department need to get sales data from marketing department in which inter-departmental communication is needed.

It is an undeniable fact that people with good qualifications can themselves achieve high efficiency at workplace. However, if they fail to maintain a harmonious relationship with co-workers as a result of poor interpersonal skills, it is unlikely that the highest workplace effectiveness could be achieved. Only when everyone in the firm is working in the same direction can the highest effectiveness be achieved. Therefore it is important for an employee to have the basic abilities of maintaining friendly relationships with supervisors and colleagues.

To conclude, in addition to having good qualification, it is also important that recruit have mastered necessary social skills in order to succeed in workplace. Ultimately, everyone in the company is working toward the same goal: benefit for the firm as a whole, which requires not only individual abilities, but also cooperation to achieve.