IELTS- What's more enjoyable? - Attending a live performance or Watching them on TV?

Question

Attending a live performance (for example, a play, concert, or sporting event) is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Answer

It is possible to entertain our selves more in live participation of an event as the joy can be shared with the loved ones in a sentimental moment. Nevertheless, some people believe that it is worthwhile watching the same occasion on television saving resources in terms of money and time. After considering both aspects, I am convinced that what is important is the selection of the event to which one should participate or which can be watched on the screen.

There are events where participation is considered as a great pleasure for both organizers and invitees and avoidance of such events is no longer possible, as our physical presence is essential for the continuation of the event. For example, invitation for an opening ceremony or as the chief guest of a concert. In the same way, it is possible to meet people whom we have not seen for ages. Moreover, blessing of the wedding couple and thanking of the participant in the play or the drama can be done lively. In addition, certain important moments can clearly be watched, and live comments can be experienced especially in a cricket match. Therefore, being on the occasion is detrimental in certain circumstances.

On the contrary, watching events on the television obtaining the same amount enjoyment is possible in certain occasions in which our absence is not highlighted; for instance a stage drama can comfortably be enjoyed with out being smashed in a crowded theatre. Further it would help us to avoid traveling on a busy high way in bad a weather condition. More importantly, we can decide whether to proceed or to stop watching simply pressing a button on the remote controller but this may not be possible if we take part in a live event.

In conclusion, it is hard to decide which way is more enjoyable since it is solely depend on the situation that we are referring to. Therefore, what is important is to select the correct event to attend or watch leisurely being at home in order to get the maximum enjoyment.