Enterprises should conduct their business in a socially responsible manner

As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities

Do you agree or disagree?

It's argued that besides generating profit, enterprises should also conduct their business in a socially responsible manner. Personally, I completely agree with this view.

In the first place, there is no denying that companies must make money in order to survive in a highly competitive market. If a company is in good financial health, it will make a positive contribution to society. Firstly, the higher the earnings earned by businesses, the more taxes they pay to the government. Therefore, they have more money to public spending such as investment in schools, hospitals, traffic infrastructure, which leads to an increase in the living standard of the whole community. Secondly, if the companies raise substantial revenues, they can reinvest, expand their production, and create more job opportunities within the community.

In addition to the first argument, it can hardly be denied that businesses should do more for society instead of the sole aim of maximizing revenue. One reason is that if the production processes from the enterprises are out of control, it may have negative impacts on the environment such as air pollution due to factory emissions or water pollution as a result of the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste. Another reason is that companies should use a percentage of their income to support those who are unfortunate in society by awarding scholarships, donating money to local charities, and environmental programs.

In conclusion, it is my firm belief that all businesses should profoundly reflect upon their social obligations rather than simply making a profit.