IELTS Writing Task 2 - ENVIRONMENT TOPIC

Climate change - shall we get use to it?

Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, global warming has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the idea of coexisting with climate change appears attractive, the disadvantages will be far more significant.

There are a number of reasons why people are inclined to live with climate change. First, since the impacts of global warming are noticeable, combating it is in vain. For instance, coastal areas, especially the Philippines and Japan, annually suffer from tsunamis, earthquakes because of geographical locations, thus people are not strong enough to resist nature. Second, by applying state - of - the - art technology, people can find it easy to predict natural disasters. For example, AI technology can forecast earthquakes faster, more accurate so that people can be better prepared to deal with them, saving millions of lives.

Nevertheless, there are several compelling reasons why humans should fight against global warming in lieu of coexisting with it. First, if people are not responsible for what they cause, the result is big losses. In fact, climate change is largely shaped by human activities rather than nature itself, like fossil fuel depletion, exhaust fumes from vehicles and deforestation, which leaves carbon footprint into the air excessively and leads to greenhouse effects. Second, natural disasters such as typhoons, earthquakes and droughts will destroy biodiversity, including human life. Plenty of evidence suggests that climate change will push animals on the verge of extinction and endanger many species, leading to lacking foods for people and other animals.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of coexisting with climate change are far more significant. By investing in producing eco - friendly alternatives and being highly conscious of environmental protection, people will make the Earth be the better place to live down the road.