IELTS WRITING TASK 2: ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES AND SOLUTIONS

human activities impact on the natural world

It is undeniable that human disturbance is the primary cause of environmental degradation. This essay will discuss some human-caused environmental issues and propose some approaches for authorities and individuals to tackle these.

Among the countless environmental problems caused by human activities, global-warming and waste disposal are the most serious ones. To meet the needs of the growing population, humans have emitted excessive greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, leading to global warming, which causes the melting of polar ice caps, rise in sea levels and unpredictable weather patterns. Our throwaway culture also results in a massive amount of waste that is difficult to recycle and takes hundreds of years to biodegrade.

Governments must be the first to take steps to deal with these issues. One suggested solution would be imposing a restriction on the amount of toxic gas and hazardous waste containing poisonous chemicals that release into the environment by factories. Another way would be raising the public awareness of environmental problems, recycling methods, and energy conservation through media and education.

Not only authorities but individuals should make attempts to preserve the environment. To achieve this important goal, people should use more environmentally friendly products. For instance, when going to stores or supermarkets, shoppers should bring their own paper bags and refuse to take home the plastic ones. Moreover, to reduce exhaust fume, it is advisable for people to travel more on foot, by bike or public transports rather than by automobile. In Dutch, famous for its green transportation, the majority of population cycles to school and work.

In conclusion, human activities have made a detrimental impact on the natural world, so governments and individuals should join hands to soften it.