Factors to broadcast good news and bad news-ielts task 2

News editors decided what to broadcast on TV and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news were reported?

News on TV and in newspapers is decided by news editors whose decisions are influenced by many different factors. It is likely that bad news seem to be reported more than good news. Some people suggest that good news should be given more priority than bad one. However, I don't think it's a good idea.

There are some factors that decide whether news is made public or not. The content of news is the primary criteria considered by the editors. Each day hundred of big and small events take place in different fields of life such as economy, culture, sports, education, politics and entertainment. The editors only choose the most striking one which may attract or relate to a large number of viewers or readers. For example, the activities of some political leaders, the conflicts among parties, information about increase in price of petrol and gold or news of natural disasters tend to be reported rather than trivial news or rumors about private lives of some celebrities.

Life always has both good sides and bad ones and the duty of newspapers and the media is to reflect the truth. Everyday, people hear about bad news such as crime, social evils, unemployment rate, serious diseases, traffic accidents... Nevertheless, we should accept it as an undeniable part of life and should find solutions to the problems. The aims of reporting bad news is to help us to be aware of the reality and to avoid the bad things as much as possible. On the other hand, too much bad news can make people become optimistic and lack beliefs in life. Therefore, good news is necessary to direct people toward kindness, good luck and happiness.

However, it doesn't mean that the more good news is reported , the better everything will be . If too much good news is report on TV or in newspapers, the citizens may have an idealized view of life. Some of them may think that the life is full of pink or be completely dim about bad things which always exist currently.

In conclusion, I think that there should have the balance between the amount of good and bad news reported on TV and in newspapers, which requires truly wise and experienced news editors.