IELTS Writing Task 2 - Family size essay

are choosing to have fewer children or none at all

Essay topics:

Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children or none at all. Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

Nowadays, in developed countries, many parents choose the way to have fewer children or do not get pregnant. Is this because of their mind that they think they cannot raise their children or their background are not good enough? In this essay, I will explain why this happens and discuss that it is a good trend or not.

First of all, from the old days, our grandparents were not prosperous as we are now. They always suffered from poverty, hunger, disease, etc. Therefore, they have an idea that if they have a lot of children, in their future they will have more property and do not have to stand for difficulties. Because of a lack of knowledge and just thinking for themselves, they do not notice the consequences. At that time, the number of people increased significantly, as we called overpopulation. This lead to many bad things, such as parents do not have enough food so that many children died, because technologies are not developed. That's why in these days, they choose to have a few kids or do not have them.

On the one hand, having a few childs bring some advantages. They can be raised more easily, have better education and cause less conflict. The gap generation is also smaller because the age difference is not big. Each member in family can have bigger areas, more privacy and they can live together harmoniously. And when parents get old, their children must take care of them and they do not have to go to nursing home. In contrast, if parents do not have kids, this can bring drawbacks. Maybe they do not have to pay for many children's fees, but they will feel lonely. Also, when they are elderly, they will not have anyone to share with.

In conclusion, I think this is a good trend. Having one or two childs will fetch many pros and happiness, but parents should consider their background to think about it