IELTS Task 2 - Fast food should be taxed or not? Do you agree or disagree?

Topic: In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

Hello everyone, I've just written this essay and hope someone can give me feedbacks and sample band score. Thank you so much for your help!

___

In many countries, people's health is at risk because of eating too much junk food; therefore, it is necessary that governments should impose a higher tax on this kind of food. I firmly agree with this idea because levying a higher rate of tax on fast food will limit the customers' consumption and money from taxing can also be invested in nutrition's education.

Firstly, imposing a more expansive tariff on fast-food industry will reduce in general customers' consumptions. This is because the more expansive the tax is, the higher product cost is, and leading to fewer people be able to pay for this meal. Instead of buying fast food, people will buy much cheaper foods but containing higher nutritional values, like fishes, vegetables and meats. For example, Vietnam government has already imposed high taxes on fast-food industry. Therefore, from 2010 to 2024, fewer children and adults eat junk food than ever, and the public's health is improving in a positive trend.

Secondly, money from junk-food's taxes can use in a more meaningful way, such as raising awareness about nutrition. Most people eat junk food because of its convenience and addicted favor; so they care less about its nutritional values, long-term health's consequences and suffer health's risks later in life. However, this trigger issue can be solve if governments use money from imposing fast-food industry's taxes to educate people about nutrition and the risk when they consume fast food regularly. For instance, many schools in Vietnam have already taught children about what kind of food they should eat and what shouldn't. Therefore, many children have given up take-away foods, by choosing healthier options instead.

In conclusion, I totally agree that junk food should be levied a higher tax to reduce the amount of consumption and raise people's awareness about nutritional values to improve everyone's health.