This is my first Issue topic on the desire of corporations. Evaluate and grade me.

The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

hidden intensions of big corporations

Government corporations main aim is to work for the welfare of their people. Although sometimes they can desire to maximize the profit for increasing the revenue but if people are not satisfied by their works, then people revolt against the corporation creating resentment. The

issue states that if corporations always aim of their profits without giving due consideration to development of nation then people are sure to revolt and create conflict. I totally agree with the statement assuming that corporation desire is only to maximize the profit and not welfare of nation.

To support my viewpoint on the issue, let me give an example currently very trending in India. The corporation of Mumbai dreams to build the tallest statue of the great king Shivaji in Mumbai coast. The budget of the project is more than 3000 crores of Rupees. Though the project seems to be appealing but there is lot of opposition from the people. Citizens opined that such large amount of money can be instead diverted for the problems Mumbai is facing like the sanitation, road development, poverty, slum rehabilitation. If the corporation uses that money efficiently then people will not conflict and be grateful to the corporation.

While maximizing the profit, corporations should understand the views of the public. They should also consider the suggestions stated by the public. In India, the corporation aimed to construct the nuclear power plant in Jaitapur without considering the public opinion. Though project offers a lot of opportunity to the residents nearby, but still the project is suffering the opposition only because it could not fathom the general sentiments of the public. The land was confiscated without taking the due consideration of the owners and thus they raised conflicts against the project.

Though many times the corporation's want to be lucrative consequently leads to welfare of nation, the corporation should assimilate and acquiesce the public's view if possible and contemplate their opinions. They should have a balanced approach and giving equal weight to both profit as well as welfare of nation.