IELTS Task 2 - Foreign languages not only for travellers or abroad workers

different reasons for multilingualism

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that language has played an integral role in creative thinking of civilizations. While some people are of the view that a foreign language is necessary only to travel and work in a foreign country, others argue that it should not be limited to these two criterions only. I tend to agree with the latter view and in this essay, I will elaborate on it.

Firstly, language becomes a major hurdle for people who travel to foreign countries for work or otherwise. They are unable to communicate with the local community which results in them being confused, lonely and feel like an outsider. Whereas, if they have learnt the language then they become better equipped to intermingle with the natives of the country and adapt to their culture and customs. Working there becomes less of a fuss for them and they build good relations with their colleagues and neighbors.

Nevertheless, the horizon for learning a new language should not just end there. There are many people who are enthusiastic for it. They have a passion to learn languages and it drives them to pursue it wholeheartedly. Furthermore, learning a foreign language enables a person to befriend people over the internet and get an insight of their culture and world views. For instance, a lot of marriages have taken place in the last decade following the couples meeting over the internet and learning each other's languages and cultures.

In conclusion, Although some people argue that travelling and working in a foreign country are the only reasons to learn a new language, I strongly believe that there are many other avenues to explore for example making friends online and building strong bonds as well as following passion of new languages for some people who end up becoming teachers.