Using foreign languages - IELTS writing task-2 practice

foreign language knowledge when living abroad

Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

One more useless thread title = ban

While dwelling abroad, speaking a foreign language can be challenging for most of people. Some may argue that it is the reason for various social and practical problems. I tend to support this idea by taking account of some specific conditions.

To learn to use a foreign language perfectly is almost impossible, resulting in serious problems while communicating with native speakers in another country. For example, students pursuing their studies abroad need to transfer to a foreign country for a certain period of time. After going there, they, suddenly, cannot mix up with other native people. As a result, they lag in studies, fail to buy necessary commodities, and make themselves isolated from the community. To depict more pragmatic problems related to these, they start to feel alone and bored. For some cases, it leads to more dangerous consequences: financial and mental-health problems.

Furthermore, lacking the skill of using a non-native language can create social distance within distant cultures. For instance, If an individual from another country is reluctant to share his experience, native people will feel intimidated to stay with this kind of person. Consequently, particular disgust can lead to a bad impression of the whole country of that person. Fewer people will opt for living in a foreign country. This can impact the overall relation between two countries.

Considering these options, I partially agree that lacking knowledge of foreign language can cause problems though there are some dominant exceptions. In recent years, for increasing global communication,children are learning foreign languages as a part of their primary education. Almost every country has their specific language requirements that every student or immigrant must follow to enter that country. Having a standard level skill for communication, people can reduce the space of creating misunderstanding.

After considering the skill of communication, I must agree that the people who are not strong enough to use foreign languages can be the reasons for arising serious and practical problems abroad including social communication and national problems.