'freedom from addiction' - The best way to get rid of someone's drug dependence is rehabilitation.

Should drug addicts be jailed or rehabilitated? Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Some people argue that nicotine addicts should enter the jail since they have done an action which against the rule, while others state that the best way to get rid their addiction is rehabilitation. Even though all people who have made an illegal activity should be sent to prison, I strongly believe that treatment will offer a freedom from the addiction.

Regarding drug users should be prisoned, it is acceptable for some people since they must take the responsibility of the illegal things that they have been done like the other criminals. This is because they can cause many problems and not just harm the person taking them but also everyone around them. Taking McGraw, a famous American singer, as an example, he is a drug addict and the media reports that his divorce was caused by the violence to his wife. However, I argue that the real problem can be finished since they can use nicotine after they release from the jail.

In reverse, treatment offers the best solution for drug addicted who wants to change their habits and behaviors from using drugs. Many facilities are provided in rehabilitation center which can make the treatment easier and faster. A study in the UK shows that rehabilitation centers which provide best quality of psychologist and medicine successfully remove 76% people from drugs and motivate to change while become engaged in a continuing treatment process. I believe this method is recommended since a disease should be recovered and it is the wisest way for each individual.

To conclude, despite the fact that locking up in the prison is the common punishment for the drug users, it is unlikely that their habits can be stopped and that is why rehabilitation is better way to estrange them from nicotine.