Freedom of Speech and the Internet

speaking freely online

Technology has tremendously changed human's lives in the 21th century. Especially Internet has been increasingly playing an important role in our daily lives. It has brought us lots of benefits but also created some serious problems as well.

Nowadays, it is common to post photographs, feelings, and thoughts on social media. We can talk with different people all over the world immediately through the Internet. Moreover, people can get latest news and information in online world. But that cause some serious problems, such as--- fake news.

More and more people are aware of fake news and fake information is increasing online nowadays. It is hard to distinguish fake or true unless we verify it harder. In this information explosion generation, people wouldn't have the patience to figure it out. Most of the people would just read it and absorb the news and slide the page away. Under this circumstance, this gives some people a chance, a chance that they can spread and create fake news, fake information or animosity comments clandestinely in the online world.

On the Internet, people can talk whatever they want, so lots of people tend to wear masks online and hide their reality identities. These kind of people are often more aggressive than others on social media because they can use fake identities to things that they can't do in the reality. For instance, spreading hatred and malicious comments or argue with others online. These malicious comments might affect immature children. In order to prevent these kinds of conditions, social media must have son restrict rules to restrain users.

In conclusion, the freedom of speech on the Internet is definitely every human's right, but we need rules to restrict human's behavior on the Internet. We may have a long way to go before we create a benign online world. But once we are on the way, we are getting closer to the goal.