In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books

Printed newspapers vs online - IELTS

Hello everyone. I'm currently studying to get an overall 6.5 ielts score within October. I have produced this short essay. I'd like to have some feedbak about it as to understad if I'm moving in the right direction. Thanks everyone for the support.

In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued that in the next future newspapers will no longer be bought since all kinds of information will be free-accessible online. This essay disagrees with this thesis. Firstly, not all sources of information online are reliable. Secondly, not everybody is used to seeking news online, therefore newspapers are for them still the major reference.

First off, during the last decade, the advent of the Internet has been followed by an ever-increasing flow of fake news. Instances of websites that constantly publish wrong information abound online, thus discouraging people from being attracted by free-online vehicles of information. For this reason, most people still tend to buy physical newspapers instead of reading free-online websites. This condition has been proved by a recent investigation. It has shown that newspapers' and magazines' sales have only decreased by 2 per cent throughout a 10-year period. This redoubtably suggests that printed information is still popular.

On the other hand, although more people than before have access to online information, there's still a remarkable part of the population that is recalcitrant about embracing the innovation. Indeed, mostly seniors or mid-aged people prefer buying paper journals rather than reading online information either because they don't have an Internet connection or because, even though they are connected, those aren't able to search online for what they need. As a matter of fact, almost three-quarters of printed-news consumers are older than the average online users.

To conclude, despite a downtrend in the newspapers' distribution, evidence suggests that this way of diffusing information is not set to retire yet both because people still trust them and also because not everyone has direct access to online resources.