When did the future switch from being a promise to being a threat?

Hey, I need someone's help to correct my essay:

Novelist, Chuck Palahniuk asked one day ''. In my opinion it is difficult to find a good answer to this question nevertheless in this essay I will try to explain what I think about it.

Firstly, as far as I am concerned, the future always has been a kind of threat. Even thousands years ago, when live was not as complicated as it is now, people were afraid af that what was waiting for them. The adults were worried about food, accommodation, living in peace and finally about their children and their happiness. Teenagers were feeling scared of getting married, having babies and being resposible for them. Nowadays, people's troubles are identical but addictionaly they have to think about getting a job that will be good enough to have money that rules the contemporary world.

On the oder hand, future also always has been a promise. Although people are afraid of that what is going to come, they are excited about these things, too. They hope that their lives will improve, they will be happier then they are now. Everybody expect their dreams coming true one day, what is very probably to happen. That is why our future is not a thing that we should be only worried about but also look foward it, because we never know what good can ocurre. And for me that is the best thing about it.

To conclude I think the future always has been either a promise and a threat. We are afraid of that what is coming but we are hopeful about that, too.