Getting promotions is one of the biggest motivators for hard work in the modern workplace.

I am glad to receive all feedbacks from you guy <3

IELTS Writing Task 2 - Type : Opinion

Topic

Why are people so driven to receive promotions?

What other factors motivate people to work hard?

My essay

Managers have a strong desire to improve their employees' productivity, and giving advancement opportunities is regarded as one of the best ways of achieving this. There seem to be two main causes involved and a range of equally pressing elements with promotion

One driving force behind workers' effort is the need to sustain their livelihood. As the cost of expenditure is upsurging, promotion can be such a promising source of income that people can satisfy their needs without falling into a financial crisis. This in turn would aid them to guarantee a better life. Greater social status can be another factor which drives people towards job promotions. With the change to a higher position in the organization, the society's respect towards a person can be positively enhanced.

Besides promotion, setting realistic targets can exert a remarkable influence on work effort. Supervisors may encounter difficulties in assessing and monitoring productivity without an objective in mind. Therefore, clear goals can give a reference point and make it easier to keep staff on an united track . Furthermore, people also work hard in order to broaden their knowledge just from the implementation of several simple projects in the workplace, which supplements them with a strong foundation for their future career.

To conclude, some people are working with their greatest enthusiasm in the hope of getting promoted. However, there are many other factors having the same influence on work ethic as well.