IELTS WRITING: WHY DO SOME PEOPLE WORK HARD? IS IT ALWAYS A GOOD THING TO WORK HARD?

In education and employment, some people work hard than others.

Why do some people work hard? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

These days, it is undeniable that some people are extremely studious and workaholic while others prefer not to exceed a certain limit. There are myriads of reasons for those attitudes to work and in my opinion, having a passion for work is estimable, whereas a hectic schedule of work would lead to some demerits.

There are three main causes encouraging people to work hard. Some people work extra shifts to receive a higher salary. They believe that they could earn a better living with more money and buy comforts for themselves and their families. Moreover, being hard-working could increase their chance of getting promotions and recognition, which is very beneficial to their career paths. Additionally, there are people passionate about their careers and work. They could work without paying any attention to the passing time to earn higher social status.

However, working hard could bring some adverse results. To begin with, people doing extra shifts, especially night shifts, could be under work pressure, so they are more likely to commit mistakes. As a result, they would make a huge loss to their company and be dismissed from their jobs. In addition, people would not have enough time for their families and friends if they spend all their days at work. Consequently, arguments could arise between partners in their relationships. Moreover, they do not give time to take care of themselves due to hectic working schedules, so physical and mental health problems such as stress would ensue.

In conclusion, working hard allows people to achieve their career goals and earn a better living. Nevertheless, it would be a risk worth taking if people work without caring about their health and their families.