Is government responsible for child obesity? The positive intervention would be beneficial.

I would very appreciate any messages about grammar errors in my text. Thank you for reading!

"In some countries, many children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some believe that governments should have responsibility to solve this problem. Do you agree or disagree?" (an essay for an English test)

governments' intervention for well-being of children

The problem that humanity is facing right now (or at least it's scope and gravity) could not be imagined some centuries ago. For the most time of the human history, the vast majority of people were living in such poverty that substantial and hearty dinner was considered not as a necessity but as a luxury available only to a narrow slice of society. Indeed, there were overweight people in the privileged strata of the society, but the ratio of them to the whole population was negligible. Currently, however, the situation is changing as nowadays ordinary people with average and small income are much more likely to become overweight than the rich ones. The explanation of this seemingly paradoxical situation is that a nowadays wealthy man can consume healthy food, full of fresh vegetables and fruits, whereas ordinary people have to rely on cheap saturated food. The scope and seriousness of the problem are so high and vivid, that some people demand governments' intervention into this domain.

There have been developed special governments' programmes in the Western countries which aim at fighting the problem of obesity, especially in children. Proper education and useful advice given from authoritative figures could help children to develop a healthier style of life, which includes sports training on a regular basis and a balanced diet. Some simple habits such as drinking more water or eating smaller portions of food more frequently can make a significant difference in the person's health for a reasonable amount of time such as a year. Unfortunately, many people simply do not possess such knowledge and therefore unwittingly ignore healthy style of life and endanger themselves with the potential problem of obesity. In that case, the intervention of the government would benefit both an individual and the society in whole, that could save up money spend on public health care.

To conclude, from my point of view, governments are supposed to help children fight obesity by promoting educational programmes in this sphere.