Essay Practice-Should Fast Food Companies be held responsible for obesity in children

The number of obesity children are now increasing. However, fast food restaurant should not be the only one that causing obesity in children. There are parents who should be responsible for their children. Parents are the ones who take care of their children most of the time, but sometimes parents are too busy with their jobs and do not care about their children health. This essay will argue who should be the most responsible for making children obesity, between parents, government, and the fast food companies.

Parents are the one who taught children about food for the first time. Children at the age of 2-4, usually love eating ice cream, candies, and other kind of sweets. Parents sometimes give sweet treats such as soft drinks to their children when their children do not want to eat. Children usually love soft drinks because it tastes cold and sweet, most children favourites. However, if parents can strictly control their children to avoid fast food and not to introduce fast food restaurant to their children since they were kids, children will not addicted to fast food. Parents can introduce their children to eat a lot of vegetables and fruits instead of taking their children to fast food restaurant. In addition, lifestyles in family also contribute for children health condition, it is better if parents do not put television in their children bedroom and give rules about limited hours for watching television.

Fast food restaurants also should involve in the problem of children obesity. Fast food restaurants should not use toys for promoting their products, because children will be attracted to toys and ask for their parents to buy them fast food to get the toys. Additionally, fast food restaurants can give variation for their menu using healthy ingredients which are safe for children, less fats and less preservatives. The location of fast food restaurants which surrounds school area also make fast foods can be reached easily by children.

Government could also play role to decrease the number of children obesity. The increases fee of taxes for fast food restaurant can make the spread of fast food restaurants in some cities. Banned fast food restaurants advertisements that could be found easily in the street also can reduce attracted children to go to fast food restaurants.

In conclusion, obesity of children caused by fast food restaurant mostly because they attract children with toys. However, there are several things parents and government can do to prevent obesity. Parents can give their children fruits and vegetable. Governments can participate by increasing tax fees and banned advertisements.