Essay about whether government should be responsible for education and healthcare

a government's core function

Some people say that governments should pay for the public health care and education, while others say that it is not the government's responsibility. Please discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a constant contention put forward that the governments should be responsible for public welfare. This essay discusses both sides of this argument, and then I will give my own perspective which is the governments should hold accountable for the public services as they must pay back to its taxpayers

On the one hand, some people think that pouring money on the public health care and the education can reduce the national competition of one country. Both health care and education cost a huge amount of money to build schools and hospitals, and also long-term costs such as recruiting and operation will incurred. As a consequence, the governments have to invest more money on this public welfare, while other important sectors such as technological innovation will be underfunded, which weaken the competitive advantages of the whole country.

Personally, I believe the governments welfare services should be funded by governments, which is a way of paying back to the taxpayers. Governments collect tax revenue from people and invest money into various sectors to improve the quality of people's life, and this is the reason why the governments exist.

In conclusion, although the public welfare imposes financial burdens on the governments, which may reduce the competitive advantage, I think it should be responsible for it, as this is the core function of a government and also a way of paying back to taxpayers