Governments should make laws about people's nutritions and food choice.

Governments should make laws about people's nutritions and food choice. Others argue that it is their choice.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether citizens' nutritions should be controlled by governments remains a subject of heated debate. While many people hold the belief that introducing laws regarding nutritions can help people steer clear of health problems, others argue that it is up to each individual to opt for their food. In this piece of writing, I will cast light on both viewpoints and express my own opinion as well.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that the main merit people can reap from the legislations when they come into effect is the improvement of health. As governments impose a resriction on people's diet in accordance with nutritionists' instructions, not only will people's immunity be enhanced but risk of other diseases is also reduced. Take Japan as an example, it is noted for longevity because most of citizens there go on a balanced diet including a lot of fish and fresh vegetables. On contrary, there is an increase in obesity level in the US due to unhealthy life style of its citizens who are in the habit of consuming a large amount of processed food on a daily basis. Therefore, governments need to regulate individuals' food choice by outlawing some harmful food and encouraging to intake nutritious one.

However, I believe that it goes against the values of governments to force their citizens to do something against their will. Obviously, launching laws to stadardize food consumption falls short of genuine on the ground that each individual has different diet according to financial condition. Thus, sometimes they cannot go strictly by the book because it is not always essential that all walks of life can afford certain kind of food. Moreover, then comes resistment among people, as it is illegal for them to consume their favourite dishes whereas it is such an act of invading human rights.

In conclusion, instead of introducing laws, governments should encourage people to intake healthy food and decision will be up to each individual.