IELTS WRITING TASK 2! Can you guess which band?

Task 2:

Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies.

Do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether scientific research is funded by the government or private companies has been a controversial topic. In my opinion, I completely agree with the former as governments could collaborate with other countries and look for sponsorships easily.

Admittedly, there are many good reasons to say that scientific research which is carried out by the government can be beneficial. Chief of these is that it is straightforward for governments when having a collaboration with other nations. Granted, when doing research, there would have the lack of types of equipment and scientists, thus, such a demand can be accepted because countries can compensate the lack of each other and both can be benefitted. For example, America and Australia collaborated with their primary aim is to upgrade the spaceships which can help them to find more answers about Mars. However, as for private firms, it is such a challenging task for them because some of them do not have enough reputation, so foreign companies can have some reluctance when having a contract to collab.

Furthermore, when doing scientific research, governments could ask for sponsorships easier than the way private companies do. This is predicated on the assumption that there are other needed areas have to be subsidized such as environment, or education, therefore, the investment in scientific research is not enough. This, according to this theory, looking for a sponsorship is utterly necessary, and the public is those who can sponsor the government's project. In other words, people can put faith in their countries, so the vast majority of them are keen on serving due to their pride in being a citizen of their nations. Private companies, on the other hand, it is hard for them to find a sponsorship because not many people or firms can even think this research can become successful, thus, it is a waste of money to spend on.

In conclusion, I would argue that scientific research should be done by the government because they have more good relationships with other countries, and more trusts that the public are willing to assist, compared to private corporations.