Is health education the answer to the consumption of junk food? IELTS essay

Prompt: recent research shows that the consumption of junk food is a major factor in poor diet and this is detrimental to health. Some people believe that better health education is the answer to this question. What is your opinion?

Junk food consumption is undoubtedly detrimental to health. In order to tackle this unhealthy diet which is becoming more and more popular, some people deem health education as the most reliable method. Efficient as it seems, health education alone is not enough to deal with the booming prevalence of junk food.

Educating people about food helps them to maintain a healthy diet and refrain from eating junk food. With the help of education consumers are able to know the nutrients in their food; hence, they are more likely to eat those that actually promote their health by enriching their body with natural vitamins. Besides constructing their own healthy diet, people could also realize the harmful effects of junk food on their circulation and metabolism system; as a result, consumers will turn away from junk food once they are well educated about their own health.

Although health education is a effective measure to reduce junk food consumption, it is simply inadequate for totally tackling this issue. The government should play an active role eliminating junk fod by imposing higher taxes on the selling of these unhealthy food. Because junk food is extremely popular thanks to its cheap prices, consumers will eventually turn away from it once the government takes action to eradicate this appealing factor. Also, by reducing the number of advertisement about junk food on TV, the government will be able to curb the growing popularity.

In conclusion, it requires not only health education, but also other measures conducted by the government to solve the headachy issue of junk food