Higher petrol price is not the only way to lower the level of greenhouse gasses

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

One of the causes of growing traffic and pollution issues is increasing the number of private vehicles especially in urban area. Although some believe to tackle this cause is by raising fuel cost, I am more likely to against this notion because this solution will conduce another problem such as social inequality. I believe developing comfort in public transport is one of the best ways to reduce pollution problems and growing traffic.

If increasing fuel price occurs massively, this situation will raise interest in having private cars. This is because the higher spending people do, the higher cost for transportation is. Taking my country as an example, in 2014, when the government implemented policy to raise the price of fuel up to twice more than before, all of needs and costs also went up such especially for basic needs and public transportation which increased sharply. Unfortunately, in the same period, sales of new vehicles experienced a dramatic rise and could sale 1000 unit in a month, according to survey conducted by Student Research Institute Makassar. This indicates that the government should consider another rule to tackle this problem.

A solution which can be implemented is improving public transportation more comfortable. It is because one of the reason why people prefer using their own cars is they feel uncomfortable when they are in public transportation. Therefore, repairing public transportation from bad facilities to having a certain quality will raise the number of passengers.

To sum up, there is no doubt increasing petrol price is not the only way to reduce greenhouse gasses. There is another measure more effectively solving this problem without issuing new problems.