Your home movies & television programs are better than foreign ones! TOEFL

Do you agree or disagree with the statement:

Movies and television programs made in your own country are more interesting than other countries'.

A lot of my friends usually choose to watch American action movies rather than our countries' movies. However, I have a firm belief that movies and television programs made in my own country are more interesting than other countries'. They might not understand why, but I have several reasons to support my opinion.

First, surroundings and background in my country's movies or programs are more familiar than other countries'. For instance, 'the host' was filmed at Han river, which is a well-known place to me. While watching this movie, I was horrified by the scenes taken in Han river because it was surprising to know these were filmed in which I was very familiar to. Although I knew it was imaginary, it was very shocking and made me watch amusingly. Also, since my culture is the same as Korean movie characters', I can easily agree or understand why they think or act that way in the movies. It will be more appealing and pleasing to watch movies when I can perceive movie characters' cultures well.

Second, I won't have any obstacles to watching my country's movies and programs. If the movie is in Korean, I won't have difficulties in understanding the language. I won't need to struggle either to understand what they are saying or to read the subscripts. In my case, when I am done watching an American movie, I usually feel stressful. That was because I had to try a lot to catch the movie and couldn't really concentrate on it. On the other hand, when I watch a Korean movie, I can focus on the movie well because I don't have any trouble understanding the language. This makes me feel a lot happier.

To conclude, I believe it is more attractive to watch my country's movies or television shows rather than watching foreign films. Neither trouble nor sweat will be needed if I watch my country's movies. Therefore, I like Korean movies more than foreign ones.