Toefl ibt writing Q2: University classes attendance, requirement or option ?

Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer

Universities teach the high level academic education and some of them require their students to attend all classes while some leave it as an option.

In my view , classes should be optional to enhance students responsibility, to give them more flexibility and to get them more concentrated during their lessons. Following are supports reasons and examples to explicit this point.

First of all, optional attending strengthens students sense of responsibility and decision making. They choose to attend or not and the decision depends only on their judgment. This permanent exercise increases their awareness of responsibility. In doing so , the University will also increase their skill in decision making. For example, I attended two years program at Isis University in my country and classes attendance was an obligation. At the end I was still experiencing decision making problems. But one year after I began courses at Olade University it was very easy to make decisions as every day I had to make the best choice to fit my diary program.

Second, I believe optional classes gives more flexibility to students. Although students should focus on their area of study, having the possibility to express their talents in other university activities like sport , theatre could be really profitable not only to them but also the university. In case of attendance obligation a talented student could miss important events in such activities. My friend Mike is a very good soccer involved in our Sokode city champion's league. The day of the final match , we had mathematics courses scheduled and he was unable to participate but that could have been a great point in his soccer career and positive impact in his life.

Finally, students are more concentrated during courses in case there is no obligation. In this case, the student attends the class after making decision to listen to the professor and to use what material they came for. While compelled students sometimes have other priorities but attend classes by obligation. For this reason they could be less concentrated and disturb their classmates. For example , French course is required actually in my program. But many people don't like, so the class is really noisy during this course while other non required attendance courses are quiet and one can be focused on what the professor is saying.

The opportunity given by optional classes to strengthen the sense of responsibility, to have more flexibility, and more concentration during courses makes it better than obligation policy .