The idea of using information technology to work remotely is partly or totally unjustifiable

Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

The advanced technology has changed people's lifestyle. Obviously, this change can be beneficial or disadvantageous. While some people believe that information technology enables many of them to work everywhere but in their workplace, such as home, others argue that this will be pointless or, if possible, a trigger to provoke new problems.

Apparently, parents are the one who will get the most profit from this trend as they are able to take a better care of their children without having to leave their professional job. Recently, about 65% of Japanese, especially those who live in Tokyo, have confirmed that they were overwhelmed by their massive workload and deadline. For this reason, some of their children were lack of attention, hence they turned out to be uncontrollable. Since the introduction of the teleconference-based working trend, Japanese parents claim that they have had much more opportunities to look after their children and witness every single development of them. In this case, I do agree that information technology has simplified people's lives in several ways. However, it seems that such simplicity will result in the revival of some other problems, such as less satisfactory work performance.

Working outside a workplace tends to end up with bad performance. When it comes to work at home, people tend to do it while they do another thing, or this is called multitasking. In fact, it is generally believed that people have a tendency to concentrate only on one thing in particular. Clearly, there comes to some point when their work result will be not as perfect as previously. Psychologists studying the effect of performing more than one task simultaneously on humans' cognition (mental processes) have found that the mind and brain were not designed for heavy-duty multitasking. They add that mental overload can result in catastrophe. As far as I am concerned, people will not able to give their best if they are allowed to work outside their workplace. This will possibly cause an adverse impact on their company.

Although such technology can save people's time in some cases, the idea of using it to work remotely is partly or totally unjustifiable because I believe that people will be not focus on their tasks if they work in a place where there are a lot of distractions. Therefore, its drawback overrides the benefit one.