Sat essay: is an idealistic approach less valuable than a practical approach?

Contemporarily, people tend to value the practical approach rather than the idealistic approach because the practical approach is more likely to provide them with tangible benefits, such as an increase in the wealth after a resonable investment. However, as for the youth, idealistic approach would possibly help people persist even in harsh conditions and thus propel them to success, while the practical approach would make them give up easily. Thus, I do not reckon that an idealistic approach is less valuable than a practical approach. My point can be illustrated with the examples of Margarete Mitchell and my sister Mary.

Margarere Mitchell, one of the most influential female author in U.S. history, tells us how an idealistic approach builds a world-famous writer. After retiring from work, Margatte became a full-time housewife who had to master all the housework and feed three very young children by her own. An ordinary housewife as she is, Maegartte had an unrealistic ambition then, to create a masterpiece about American civil war. There are few advantages for her to create the masterpiece, however. Having tidied the house and prepared the meal for a family of six, exhauster Margarette only had about one hour to do with her novel everyday. Furthermore, rather than back her, her husband and neighbour always mock her unreasonable plans, which strongly hurt Margarette's confidence. However, instead of giving up, with one hour a day for nearly 20years, Margarette finished her masterpiece, 'gone with the wind', whose manuscript is as thick as five inches. The novel was so popular that one thousand copies were sold and soon established Margarette as the most prestigious author then. Without an idealistic approach, Margarete wouldnot persisted over the hardship and gain the great success.

My sister Mary's failure show us the negative effect of practical approach on youth. My sister Mary was always thought as a prodigy in art in the painting school who can make a copy of the sunflower, masterpiece of VanGoah , when she was ten. However, Mary strongly adhered to the practical approach and believe it is not easy to succeed in the art. Thus, she never worked very hard and often tried to find other ways to success. When she was eighteen, Mary won a considerable amount of money in a provincial painting competition and use the money to invest in the business, which she thought is more probable for success, giving up art forever. Five ywars later,after losing all her savings in the business field, Mary tried to pick up the brush again.

However, this time she could not even draw an ordinary tree and could only appease herself with the former reward. No one could deny that it is the adherence to practical approach that degenerate such a talent to a mediocre.

The examples of Margarette and Mary can explain why idealistic approach is not less valuable than practical approach.