IETLS Writing Task 2: The measures to improve waste management through recycling

recycling on a bigger scale is required

Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Here is my essay. I am wondering whether I can get 6.0/6.5 out of 9.0 with respect to this essay. Thank you.

Coincidence with the improvement of living standard, more and more waste is produced in daily life. Some are in favour of the view that legislation is the only method to increase recycling which is still not enough today. From my perspective, although laws are beneficial to the increase of recycling in some cases, other measures are also of necessity.

The first point to make is that the process of recycling at home is still not convenient enough. In other words, there are still difficulties in recycling for some people like children and the old. At present, the most significat and tiring part of recycling is to divide waste from home into several categories. This requires not only a certain amount of time but also knowledge of recycling which is not compulsory course in school. Therefore when substantial progress is made in this respect in the future, the rate of recycling at home is likely to rise remarkably.

Another possible measure is the introduction of reward for recycling. This is because laws only force citizens to recycle wast. In many cases, what legislation requires is against people's natural willing. For example, it is humans's nature to enjoy benefits without taking responsibilities. This mechanism is the cause of establishment of many laws. However, reward is probably more helpful in this regard since people are more probable to cultivate the habit of recycling when reward like exemption of taxes is introduced.

On the other hand, hardly can anyone deny that laws have positive effects on people to some extent. Without any doubt, after a long time recycling will gradually become more a part of life than a requirement because of laws. Recycling in Japan is a case in point. After several decades since the laws about recycling, nowadays many Japanese have already adopted to recycling.

In conclusion, despite the positive impacts of laws on raising people's awareness of recycling, other measure such as improvement of recycling technology and introduction of reward are also needed and can be more effective in some cases.