The Impact of Technology on Characters on the Digital Era

Technology is likened to water, while we are the fish. Fish need water as a medium to move (swim). Likewise with us, technology is like water which is a medium for us to move and develop. But unfortunately, water can be dirty and infect the fish around it. Likewise with technology, technology can actually backfire and infect us. So how can technology affect us?

I often think, has technology become a necessity in human civilization? If the world repeats itself, technology will still exist. In the past, humans innovated and made primitive tools that could help them survive. Stone knives, stone axes, oval axes, pointed stones for chiseling are objects that are also technology. Technology is likened to a tree that continues to develop itself. From tree roots-tree trunks-branches or tree chains, and tree leaves that continue to expand and enlarge. Over time with human intelligence, technology continues to develop and give birth to many new branches in life. One invention, a thousand developments. For example, the invention of fire, this one invention alone has opened up access to many other technologies. Fire is used in the world of smelting or industry, fire is used in the world of expeditions and exploration, fire is used in the world of health and medicine, fire is used in the military world, and so on.

On this digital era, various technological innovations are increasingly emerging. Technology has helped in various areas of human life. For example AI (Artificial Intelligence), this technology has been proven to help human activities efficiently and effectively. AI not only provides us with convenience in activities, but provides deeper insights to explore the world of knowledge. If utilized properly, AI can help a person achieve higher knowledge.

Technology is indeed very helpful in advancing human civilization. But on the other hand, technology can also poison humans. If not managed properly, the poison can even cause social symptoms. I often see technology being utilized by some humans just to seek social validation. To get social validation, there are also individuals who are willing to degrade themselves. Socialites influence the direction of technological development, but technology can also influence the shape of socialites. Ai has a considerable role in human activities. The overuse of AI without involving the hard work of the human mind can lead to a decline in human integrity and dignity. They don't care about their disengagement as long as AI can help to validate them on sociality. Because of the convenience provided by AI, many humans have begun to depend on AI. This can lead to laziness, lack of creativity, and lack of critical thinking.

In conclusion, in this digital era, technology plays a huge role in shaping human character. Many humans are starting to depend on technology. One of the innovations in technology that has had a big impact in recent years is AI. AI has both positive and negative impacts. We as humans are given the mind to think, sort, filter, and analyze a problem. We should make the best use of technology.