Writing IELTS Task 2: The importance of History vs Science and Technology in school

Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Others think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are important than History.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In an accelerating pace of modernization nowadays, it is universally acknowledged that a constantly changing and competitive society is looking at the all-around education of candidates and not merely their academic credentials. However, there is a perception that History fulfills the most vital function of the syllabus, while others contend that this role should be attached to Science and Technology. From my perspective, both History, Science, and Technology are inextricably linked with each other due to several plausible reasons.

There is no doubt that History has been offering tremendous assistance to learners regarding not only theoretical but also practical horizons. By getting exposed to the vary of wars and occurrences, undergraduates are directly engaged in the past that broadens their optimistic outlooks on today's life and arouses students' moral behaviors because of the pride and gratitude towards forefathers. For example, it is able for students to be conscious of present tranquility results from the suffering of ancestors, hence taking more responsibility for the motherland's development by achieving outstanding academic records.

Nonetheless, as for the skeptics to this opinion, subjects like Science and Technology are more superior than History in being as the most essential factors in terms of rendering assistance to students' contemporary skills. It is gaining access to advanced facilities by attending these classes that provide students with many hard skills for the newly-created job opportunities. Taking computer, analytical, and presentation skills for instance, which recruiters expect in their employees, candidates are capable to develop these abilities unconsciously over the course.

However, I am utterly convinced that both History, Science and Technology are not mutually excluded. While History focuses on instilling the solid academic foundation for further self-perfection into the psyche of candidates, technology-related subjects such as Science and Technology precisely show learners the way in controlling cutting-edge equipment, thus contributing to their future occupational competency.

To recapitulate briefly, as for the aforementioned personal viewpoints, both History and subjects like Science and Technology play equally crucial roles in well-rounded education's contribution. It is high time for schools to aim at ensuring students' intellectual and social development which exerts influence on individuals' future career success.