The importance of teaching children how to distinguish right and wrong is undeniable

It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

The importance of teaching children how to distinguish right and wrong is undeniable in contemporary society and punishment has been seen an effective tool to achieve this purpose. In my opinion, I partially agree with it.

Punishment may lead to some desirable outcomes in certain situations. The majority of children tend to be curious about things happened around them which means that they are likely to be attracted by some immoral or even illegal things such as doing drugs. During this time, actions need to be taken by both parents and teachers because they have the responsibility to lead children to a right and positive path. However, some kids may be too naughty to be educated, so proper punishment could be carried out to help them.

Punishment without harm to physical health can be used to teach children to behave well. Grounding, for example, could be a way to offer children the space to calm down and help them have self-examination. Nevertheless, the frequency of such punishment should be controlled by parents and teachers because it can impose some negative impact on children considering that childhood is an important time to form their perspective towards their future life and the world.

In conclusion, I think that some punishment can be used but parents and educationalists are better not to use it frequently as it may cause some undesirable consequences on children's psychological development.