Punishment is necessary to help children distinguish between right and wrong

How to make children learn difference between right and wrong

Topic: It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Essay:Essay:

It is some time argued that whether parents should apply punishments to their offspring as a way to teach them to distinguish between right and wrong. While this could be true in a certain extent, I believe that punishment plays an important role in educating children. However, not all punishment can take positive effects.

Admittedly, controlling children's behavior when they are still in young age keep them in line and avoid social evils. This is because children are vulnerable to be affected by temptation from the surroundings such as electronic games, violent-contained videos or pornographic films. Certain punishments enable children to understand what behavior is beneficial to them and hence to stay away from bad doings. This is exemplified in the study undertaken by American professors. They indicated that kids lacking the control from their parents are more likely to become crimes rather than those getting a good education. Thus, it is completely plausible for parents to carry out punishments to protect their offspring from adverse effects.

However, this is not to say that all punishments are good for children. Some parents today tend to use violent actions causing serious influences on physical and mental health of children. Instead of that, parents should use minor punishments associated with valuable lessons for children. For example, some parents asked their offspring to clear their room as a way to teach them to give up untidy habits. Besides, parents could talk with their offspring and give them significant advices if the mistake caused is unimportant.

After discussing all the points mentioned above, I can conclude that punishment is necessary for teaching children. Parents should have considerations to choose the best educational measure to ensure children's development in the future.