A punishment is believed to be the best way to help children to distinguish right from wrong

children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age

It is crucial that children be exposed to the difference between right and wrong at a very young age. Commonly, punishment is strongly believed to be the best way to help them distinguish this difference. I agree that punishment and discipline are essential in instructing children about right and wrong, besides, we need more care, more supportive words, and actions but not only severe punishments. Therefore, the most effective type of punishment should parents and teachers apply in teaching good behaviors to children is to make them responsible for whatsoever their mistakes.

Firstly, punishment is necessary because it brings fearfulness. Accordingly, if children take incorrect actions in doing something and they are punished directly, 90% of them might not go that wrong direction again. In this way, children can not only learn about how wrong actions shape, and what are the right decisions to make. Secondly, punishment means implementing discipline and discipline brings perfection in children's behaviors. Nevertheless, care and support are more important than solely drastic punishment. That said the more parents take their children into careful consideration, the less generation gap and the more good characters they have.

For these reasons, personally, I affirm that the most valid sort of punishment is for children to take responsibility for their actions. At home, if children have bad behaviors, parents should teach them about regrets, apologies, and compensation. For instance, if a child breaks a cup because they detest decorations, firstly, parents should ask him about how terrible his action is and require them a sincere apology. Next, this child should clean that tangle and make commitments about better behaviors in a similar situation. At school, teachers should do the same thing when their students make any minor or major mistakes. In this way, children can have a deeper understanding of the distinction between bad and good behaviors.

In conclusion, although punishment plays an important role in teaching children about rights and wrongs, parents' attention is another inevitable aspect in accomplishing this journey. By the way, there are many types of punishment but it seems to me that the most productive one is taking-responsibility discipline.