IELTS TASK 2 It is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centre

Task 2: When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the process of planning a new town, either building public parks and sports facilities or shopping centers is more vital is the question often considered. Although shopping centers can be attractive to many residents, I think that developing those big constructions is not as important as developing the two other infrastructures.

Public parks and sports facilities are more important for a reason. Parks preserve the quality and the health of our living environment. A lot of trees are planted there to provide fresh air and filter the atmosphere for the city dwellers, which ensures the town is a safe and peaceful place to live in. Sports facilities keep the residents living there healthy and happy. The availability of sports centers will encourage and provide opportunities for people to exercise, which is essential for a good mind and a healthy body.

Meanwhile, the shopping center is not as essential since people only come here to entertain themselves in their free time. It mainly serves as a place for people to buy a range of items from retail shops, department stores, and especially boutiques. This may be good for the economy but does not contribute to the health of the city dwellers, the most important aspect of a well-developed town. Moreover, building these sites requires a lot of money, which is better spent on other facilities that enhance citizens' lives, especially in a newly planned town that does not have any cash inflow yet.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the construction of open parks and sports facilities should be prioritized over shopping centers as it can improve the health and the life quality of the residents living there.