Which is more important for a sport, is it mental strength or physical strength, and explain why.

Some people think that physical strength is important for sport and others think mental strength is more important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Sports have become an indispensable activity in modern lifestyles, going beyond being a mere way of entertainment. It is well established that sports heavily demand both mental and physical stamina. While some people believe it is the physical strength which is crucial factor, others are on the idea that mental power is of paramount importance to excel in a sport or a game.

People argue that physical fitness is the governing factor to be competitive in a sport. It is obvious to consider the fitness level as the key because it is the foundation and prerequisite of majority of sports activities. As it seems to me, without the required minimum physique, no one would be capable of engage in a sport letting alone winning the competition, despite one's courage and passion in doing it. In weight lifting or wrestling, for instance, the players need to possess the minimum weight and muscle power to compete.

In contrast, others believe that, mental stamina surpasses the physical strength, in perfecting a sport. As I believe, physical fitness and strength would be useless without the mental driving force behind. Courage, resilience and concentration are proved to be the key mental strengths behind a successful and professional player. For example, the concentration and status of mind are the determining factors of a good batman in a game of cricket. Without the tremendous courage, a long distance runner will give up the race in halfway, without reaching the finishing line.

To recapitulate, people bear contradicting stances regarding whether the physical or the mental stamina is more important, in being successful in a sport. While physical strength is the basic requirement to engage in a sport, mental fitness plays the key role as the one boosts courage and passion. In my personal view, moral aspect is paramount over the physical strength, as it is the governing and key factor in controlling and stimulating the physical energy.