IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Inconsiderate gaming and kids

Please evaluate my essay. Thank you

children's excessive habit of gaming

Topic: Today many children spend a lot of time on playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Children nowadays dedicate a significant part of their time to video games instead of physical activities. This phenomenon stems from a host of factors, ranging from the improvements in game design to the negligence of parents. I opine that this development would be detrimental to a child's growth.

Game designers are striving to keep their players online for longer and parents appear reluctant to address this. Online games now have great visuals, a fascinating storyline, and a reward system, which makes playing games more appealing than playing sports. Specifically, gamers can gain instant rewards without going out and draining their bodies. Parents are also to blame as they give their offspring the permission and the tools. For example, Vietnamese parents are being heavily criticized for permitting their children to use smartphones nonstop, in return for their obedience, such as finishing their meals.

Excessive gaming impacts children negatively. Firstly, they may not engage in healthy social interactions, hence their lack of social skills in the future. Studies have suggested that real-life interactions help to hone children's soft skills and adapt their behaviors to social norms, which is critical to their competence in adulthood. Additionally, spending to much time on games adversely affect children's health. Heavy focus on computer games instead of working out would not only impair the body's growth but also severely affect mental stability.

In conclusion, parents' carelessness and sophisticated game technologies are the culprits for children's excessive habit of gaming. Young individuals should be restricted to playing games less and be encouraged to engage in sports with their peers, as it benefits their social life and wellbeing.