IELTS TASK 2 - are individuals powerful enough for making improvements for the environment?

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been contentious views on who should be liable for making improvements for the environment, with some people claiming that it is the responsibility of every individual while others reckon that only governments and large organizations are capable of making changes. I believe both sides are of equal importance in the abatement of pollution, with the latter so far have gained substantial achievements.

It is discernible that the government has contributed a lot into the sustainability of the natural environment. To illustrate, due to several incidents of sewage and untreated waste being dumped directly into the sea, the Vietnamese government has now brought in stricter regulations in order to control the waste treatment process as well as the disposal of garbage and sewage. In addition, behemoths like Vingroup have also made various efforts to offset the carbon footprint, namely the inventions of electric vehicles like Feliz or Ludo which produce no exhaust fumes.

With that being said, governments and large companies should not be held accountable for the betterment of the natural environment. It is believed that humans have subconsciously increased transboundary pollution by many means, such as the excessive use of private vehicles or the incorrect use of natural resources. Thus, in order to tackle such pressing issues, such habits must be given up so that the damaging effect on the environment would be minimized to its bare minimum.

To conclude, the responsibility of developing the environment should not be allocated to only authorities and enterprises but also to every citizen of the world, who are gradually damaging its sustainability in the long term.