International sports events like Football World Cup help in world peace. Do you agree or disagree?

ways to achieve world peace

International sports events bring crowds of people together to a common venue where an atmosphere of compassion and harmony can be observed, however, to achieve world peace, I believe that efforts at a much larger scale must be made and they should not be confined to any particular, short-term sports event.

To start with, events such as Football World Cup, on one hand have the capability of contributing to world peace achievement. They let people get together and share their views on various conflicts among nations. It can help changing the minds of spectators, however these interventions soon dissolve into insignificance as soon as the event finishes. Moreover, people tend to focus on entertainment more as they cheer for their respective nation and players while there are also chances of riots and violence when they do not control their emotions. Such incidents can escalate tensions among nations. Thus, the impact is limited and brief in achieving world peace.

On the contrary, much larger efforts need to be made to obtain harmony throughout the world. Firstly, greater equality is to be established in terms of growth and progress which can come from activities other than sports events. For example, countries that have abundant resources must understand the needs of the third world where peace can come from raising the standard of individual lives. Threats that are most disturbing peace in the world, such as nuclear war, famine, poverty and environmental dangers, should be tackled by united approach by all nations.

In conclusion, it is imperative that we concentrate on programs and agendas that work on fulfilling the core requirements to achieve world peace, other than spending too much on international sports events.